Nov 6, 2016

The diocese-level Young Catholic Students (YCS) convention was held on the premises of St Francis Xavier Church, Udyavara on Sunday, November 6, 2016.

The day began with a Eucharistic celebration, concelebrated by Dr Gerald Isaac Lobo, Bishop of Udupi diocese at St Francis Xavier Church at Udyavar, in the morning. Fr Edwin Dsouza director of YCS/YSM, Udupi diocese and director of Youth Commission of the diocese, Fr Dr Roque Dsouza parish priest of the church, Fr Herold Pereira director of SCC, Udupi diocese, and Udupi ward priests were present there.

In his homily, bishop Lobo dwelled on the mercy Jesus showed to those who had committed adultery. "Jesus' display of mercy is evidence to his love for everyone. God almighty loves

us even though we are sinners," he said.

The mass was followed by an hour-long adoration by Fr Herold Pereira. More than 750 YCS students, animators and organisers were present for mass and adoration.

The theme of the stage programme was the 'year of mercy'. Skits and dances were performed on the theme by most of the diocesan parish units of the YCS. Singing events were held by each of the five deaneries of the diocese. Ashwin Dcosta, Shawn Rodrigues and Sr Ancilla Dmello, noted famous personalities of Mangaluru, were judges at the event.

Msgr Baptist Menezes spoke on the occasion. Bishop delivered his presidential address advising the students on various higher level courses and career options.

Dr Gerald Isaac Lobo presided over the stage programme. Msgr Baptist Menezes, vicar general, diocese of Udupi, Fr Royal Nazareth of Katpady, Fr Paul Rego of Pamboor, Fr Denis D'Sa, the PRO of Udupi Diocese as well as the parish priest of Kuntalnagar parish, Fr Edwin Dsouza director of YCS,  Hazel Martis president of Karnataka Region YCS, Leon Lewis president of YCS, diocese of Udupi, Rolwin Menezes secretary, and other among were present on the dais.

The three judges of the event, donors, winners of street play, coordinators of YCS were honoured at the occasion. The winners of the events were felicitated with prizes.

Leon welcomed the gathering, Rolwin Menezes proposed the vote of thanks. Vencilla Noronha, Rayan Fernandes and others compered the programme.

Latest News

Back to Top