Jan 13, 2018 @ 9:00 AM


Udupi : Young Students Movement YSM Udupi Diocesan Convention JAANAPADOTSAVA was held on 13th January 2018, Saturday at St. Marys High School Hall, Udupi.

Rev. Fr Reginald Pinto, Director of SAMPADA - Social Development Centre of Udupi Diocese was the chief guest for the Inaugural Ceremony. The Programme was inaugurated by Fr Reginald Pinto, Fr Edwin Dsouza Director-YCS/YSM & YSM Office Bearers by lighting the lamp. This was followed by InterReligious Prayer.  Renvil Furtado, President of YSM Udupi Diocese welcomed the guest & judges by wearing the YSM Scarf. Fr. Arun Dsouza Mizoram, Mr. Norbert Misquith Suratkal & Mr Stanley Fernandes Sampada were the judges. Fr. Reginald Pinto in his message stressed on the importance of traditions & cultures, its origin & the present situation.

Later, Mr Stanley Fernandes conducted various animation and other activities to the students. Soon after, the meaningful and wonderful cultural competition was held.


During the valedictory programme, the chief guest Rev Fr. Arun Dsouza of  Dominican and the one of the judge, Norbert Misquith Surathkal and Stanley Fernandes, Rev Fr. Edwin Dsouza Director of YCS/YSM Udupi Diocese, YSM President Renvil Furtado & Secretary Gagan, Animator Mrs. Reshma Martis and other officials were present on the dais.

Speaking to students, Fr. Arun Dsouza said for the humans thinking is important in life than animals. We can see, judge and act. This particular movement of YCS/YSM should transform the new thinking in the society. We should think something new. We should share something new to the people. There is a need of positive thinking and fresh thoughts. The movement will flourish; learn to appreciate with new positive thinking. Fr. Edwin Dsouza gave the gratitude to all concerned during the occasion.


Around 280 students and animators from 15 schools of Udupi diocese participated. All animators and other officials were honored during the occasion.


The winners of the Jaanapadotsava were honored during the occasion. The winners are, First St. Marys English Medium School, Kannarpady Udupi, Second St. Francis Xavier English Medium School Mudarangadi, and Third St. Lawrence Eng Medium School, Moodubelle.


The cultural feast was winded up with singing YCS/YSM anthem.


Latest News

Back to Top